Just another WordPress.com site

Chicago: Musical at MSU

Mankato Free Press Article

I would just like to say that Paul Finocchiaro has directed an great version of Chicago. He made excellent casting decisions and his research helped bring the Fosse style back to life. I did NOT realize how much research went into making a widely known musical into one’s own. I would also like to point out all the hard work that went into creating the Chicago set. I’ve helped in the theatre workshop for three semesters and it’s hard labor. What may look like a simple set took weeks to produce.  So  kuddos to the shop workers and also to those who run sound and lights. Last but not least the show wouldn’t be what it is without the live orchestra playing the music. The actors aren’t the only talented ones in this musical. It’s not just the actors that make a show what it is. So get your butts to Chicago and prepare to be razzled and dazzled. If you’re husband or boyfriend isn’t very motivated to go you can mention the half nude girls dancing around too.

There is something else I would care to get out of my system. As the House Manager for the production of Chicago at Minnesota State University, Mankato I can honestly say, “Wow.” If this particular musical was so wanted by the community then why are all the patrons so rude and continue to show up 10 minutes late to the opening act?? They should all be there early because of their excitement or  just being on time would be great. The show shouldn’t have to wait for those who are late. They waste the time of others who show up on time to the show and the performers who work hard to entertain.

I see many of these late-comers dressed in nice business attire and I wonder how late do they show up to meetings? They must make their clients and fellow employees very upset consistently. But this is another blog for another day.

7 responses

  1. Yes I heard that MSU was putting on Chicago and I am very excited to see it!

    October 5, 2010 at 7:52 pm

  2. Natalie Stoos

    I heard a lot of great things about the Chicago production so congratulations on such a good job with your part in it. I can’t believe that people show up late. That is so rude. If I had any say in it, I would make it known that if they are not there on time the doors will be locked so the show can start when it is scheduled to. Those who are late can wait outside of the theater until the next act where they can slip in quietly and find their seats. Hopefully after learning their lesson they will know not to do it again.

    October 5, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    • That’s a great idea Natalie! Yes it really is a good show and you guys should check it out if you have the time. It will be showing Thursday, Friday and Saturday at 7:30 p.m. (doors open at 7:10 p.m.) and also Saturday and Sunday at 2 p.m. (doors open at 1:40 p.m.). Thank you all for your comments. I’m not really good at this blogging thing yet and it’s nice to see a few comments 🙂

      October 7, 2010 at 6:35 pm

  3. Chicago is one of my favorite musicals (The Phantom of the Opera is No. 1 on my list). I would love to see Paul Finocchiaro’s version, but I can’t fit it in to my schedule this weekend. I have only been to a few musicals at MSU, but the ones I have seen I have really enjoyed.

    October 7, 2010 at 5:12 pm

  4. Karrie

    I actually just heard about the musical today at work!A lady was telling everyone about it! would love to see it!

    October 7, 2010 at 7:27 pm

  5. I haven’t frequented the MSU Theater performances, but reading this post gets me interested in this production of “Chicago.” I appreciate all the hard work that must go into these productions, and I hope that patrons respect the show in the future.

    October 7, 2010 at 8:39 pm

  6. Wow, it’s so interesting that we can watch such a famous musical on campus. All the people should appreciate the background works and hardships to prepare and play the musical. Showing up on time is one small way to express thank you. Anyway, I hope everything to work out pretty well.

    October 10, 2010 at 8:17 am

Leave a Reply

